My new favorite bread recipe

In my quest to make real food without a crazy amount of work I stumbled across sourdough.  Tasty, healthy and relatively painless, this recipe makes awesome bread or rolls.
Ingredients:

  • cup sourdough starter
  • 1 ½ cups warm water
  • tablespoon yeast
  • teaspoon salt
  • tablespoons sweetener (I use honey cause its good for you)
  • tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 -4 cups flour (I use whole white wheat, if you haven’t tried it you should)
  • In a large mixing bowl combine the sourdough, warm water, yeast, salt, sweetener, and olive oil.  Slowly add the flour 1/2 cup at a time.  If you use your muscles you should have no problem getting all 4 cups mixed in.  Let it sit in a warm spot until it doubles in size, usually a few hours. 

    Knead it on a floured surface, I use a big wooden cutting board.  Roll it into a log and cut it into 16 pieces (usually cut it in half and in half…) Shape each of the 16 pieces into circles, or as close to circles as you can.  Bake at 375 for around 20 minutes. 

    I use these rolls as my everyday bread. They are easier to slice than a loaf and are the perfect size for a sandwich or toast.   Go on, give them a try and I promise you’ll never go back to store bought bread.

    linked up at: i am addicted to recipes , The Homestead Barn Hop and six sisters stuff

    2 thoughts on “My new favorite bread recipe

    Leave a Reply

    