Old Fashioned Muffins

  I try to always have some simple breakfast and snack items on hand that Ian and I can grab on our way out the door.  When we started this journey that meant things like store bought granola bars and chips.  I’ve since learned that I can make breakfast and snack foods that are much healthier and much cheaper than their store bought cousins.  I have tried about tons of different things at this point, some have been successful (like my Granola Bar Bites ) and others have reached a whole new level of failure (I once tried sourdough pretzels that ended in us having to buy new sheet pans).  Either way its always a learning experience and pretty darn exciting when I find something that works…like these muffins.

Old Fashioned Muffins
Ian loves donuts but lets be honest they are not the healthiest snack in the world.  I’ve seen recipes for “Donut Muffins” and I thought that might be a good place to start.  I modeled these muffins after the “Old Fashioned” cake donuts that a certain popular donut shop sells.  So grab a cup of coffee (or milk if you are Ian) and enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 Cups White Whole Wheat Flour
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
1/4 Cup Evaporated Cane Juice
1/4 Cup Maple Syrup (the real stuff!)
1/2 Cup Coconut Oil
1 Egg
1 Cup of Milk
1 Teaspoon Vanilla

Mix all ingredients together until well blended, pour into 12 greased or lined muffin tins and bake at 375 for around 15 minutes.
You could do a million things with this recipe, add nuts or fruit.  Top them with any sort of nut butter, jam or just eat them plain.  I love a recipe that you can do so many different things with…don’t you?

Linking up with The Homestead Blog HopFrugal Days, Sustainable WaysNomday Monday

2 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Muffins

  1. These look awesome, Kai! 😀 And LOVE the ingredients–so good for you. I'll definitely give this a try. Been trying to eat snacks to keep my metabolism going, and it's hard to decide on things to eat. These would be perfect. Thanks for lining it up to our Nomday Monday linky! Let me know your Facebook page and Twitter links and I'll follow you. Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

