No-Sew Knotted Flannel Blanket

My awesome Aunt found this adorable airplane printed flannel and snatched it up for us (Ian was beyond excited).  It took me awhile to figure out the perfect project for it but I think this knotted flannel blanket was just the thing we were looking for.

The airplane print backed with a solid yellow

The first thing I did was pick out a cheerful yellow flannel to be the back side of the blanket.  The yellow matches the little banners on the fabric perfectly (they say “up in the air”).  Then I pinned the two pieces (a yard of each) together with the “wrong” sides facing each other.  I placed the pins about 4 inches down so that I would have room to make the knots.

Close up of the knots
  The next step was to work my way around all 4 sides cutting 1 inch wide by 4 inch long strips into the fabric.  After each strip was cut I took the two pieces and knotted them together (a simple square knot did the trick).  When I got to a corner I cut a 4 inch square out and then kept working on the next side.  
The very last thing I did was go back around and make sure my knots were nice and tight. 
All done!

Thats it! The whole project only took a couple of hours and it made a soft, warm and completely adorable blanket for the little Rookie.  It is easily Ians favorite baby item (though the John Deere socks are a close second) so I imagine this blanket is going to get a lot of use.

What do you think?

Linking up with: Frugal Days, Sustainable WaysSix Sisters Stuff, and The Homestead Barn Hop

6 thoughts on “No-Sew Knotted Flannel Blanket

  1. This is so cute! Good job! My Little Man's FAVORITE blanket is a new sew fleece one my mother-in-law-in-law (my sister's mother-in-law)made him when I was pregnant. I hope Rookie loves this blanket like Little Man loves his “Cozy” (yup, blankie has a name).

    Like

  2. I love these blankets! I made one for my husband when we were dating. I should make one with our boys!! Thanks for reminding me! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this week on Saturday Show & Tell on Cheerios and Lattes! We love having you! 🙂 Have a great week!
    Mackenzie 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Debra,
    I washed it as soon as I was done making it and pulled any loose strings out when it dried. Since then it's been pretty much string free. You can also do the same technique with fleece which tends to be a sturdier fabric, if you are worried about the blanket being “well loved”

    Like

Leave a Reply

