A Gentle Cesarean, Final Part

*This is the final part of a 4 part series on ‘Gentle Cesarean Sections’ and the birth of our daughter, Matilda Piper.  It is my goal that by sharing this I will be able to encourage the many moms who end up needing medically necessary C-sections to take control and have the best possible birth for both them and their babies. You can read Part 1 HEREPart 2 HERE, and Part 3 HERE .

Getting to know each other


Now that we are 1 month out from this whole experience (wow, time flies!) looking back on it doesn’t seem so tough.  Was it the birth I had wanted, planned and prepared for? no, but the end result was a happy, healthy baby.

The recovery was harder than I expected (and honestly I’m still recovering) and that is one thing that I wish I could change.  The first day or two in the hospital are a blur and I don’t really feel like I was able to bond and help care for Matilda the way I would have with a natural birth.  Thankfully, Ian was able to stay at the hospital with us and take care of her while I rested.  Tilly absolutely adores her daddy and I’m sure that played a big part in building their relationship.  Now that I am feeling better, we’re quickly making up for lost time.  I don’t think our relationship has suffered at all from the slight delay.

My goal in writing this series was to not only educate people on the idea of a gentle cesarean but also to hopefully encourage other women who are facing medically necessary c-sections.  I was able to speak up and make the birth of our daughter the best it could be and I hope that by reading these posts I can empower other women to do the same.

Feel free to use the birth plan found in Part 3, changing it as you need to in order to best suit your circumstances.  I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have, you can comment here or contact me via our facebook page.

Growing bigger every day

Thank you for following me through this journey, now I’ll get back to homesteading posts I promise!

* Linking up with: healthy 2day and The Modest Mom

3 thoughts on “A Gentle Cesarean, Final Part

  1. I loved reading this!! I have had 2 c/s and they were anything but gentle. 😦 I had an HBA2C with my last baby but if I ever have another c/s I will will plan for a gentle “natural” c/s. She's precious!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations and thank you for sharing your story! I had a gentle cesarean with my second child (my first was born in an emergency and needed to be resuscitated – he was extremely premature). It was so wonderful to work with an open-minded medical team who helped make changes to the standard protocol – it is so much better for mother and baby! Would you mind sharing the name of your hospital? I'm compiling a list to share with my hospital so that they can see it's being done in other places. I'm hoping it can eventually be a standard option for all cesarean births.

    Like

Leave a Reply

