Tummy Troubles Tea

Matilda was having some serious gas pain during her first few weeks.  Her pediatrician suggested we start her on probiotics but since they would take some time to start working, he recommended we give her some “Gripe Water” when she got gassy.  I sat down at home with a much happier baby and much sadder bank account.  That gripe water stuff was not cheap! You can imagine my shock when I read the back of the box and realized I had all the ingredients in my pantry…and with that I give you:

Tummy Troubles Tea (for all ages)


2 tablespoons of whole fennel seeds
8 slices of fresh ginger 
5 tea bags of  chamomile tea (loose tea is fine)
6 cups of water


3 simple ingredients, 1 happy tummy

Mix all of the ingredients in a large pot and bring to a boil  
Put the lid on and reduce heat, allowing it to simmer for 20 minutes
When it has turned a clear golden color remove from heat and strain it
Store in the refrigerator


If using for adults or older children serve as a tea either warm or cold (add a little honey to taste)

If using for children under the age of 1 allow the tea to cool to room temperature and the dilute with 3 more cups of water. DO NOT add honey.

 I filled a small glass bottle with the diluted mixture for Matilda and give her 1/2 teaspoon as needed, she is currently 2 months old.  I will increase the dose as she gets older.   

Tummy Troubles Tea

*Please keep in mind that I am not a doctor.  Please check with your doctor before giving this to small children.  

I am linking up to: Homestead Barn HopModest MomNatural Living Link UpFarm Girl FridaySimple Living Wednesday

4 thoughts on “Tummy Troubles Tea

  1. Awesome that you figured out a way to use this for your little babygirl. I don't have little ones anymore, but I am going to be a grandma this summer, for which I CAN'T WAIT!

    Following you here, on FB and on Twitter, and looking forward to getting to know you better! Feel free to connect back with me, Kai!

    By the way, I'd love for you to share this blog post at the Farm Girl Friday Blog Fest this Friday. It goes live early Friday mornings and is announced on Twitter and Facebook, so don't forget to follow if you are interested!

    Kristi@Let This Mind Be in You
    http://thismindbeinyou.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

