But I’m Just too Busy

“I’d love to eat real healthy foods but I’m just too busy.” is one of the most common responses I hear when I describe the journey we are taking.  Followed by “I’d love to be more environmentally friendly but I’m just too busy.”  Well you know what folks, I’m “just too busy” too (can you say newborn?) but that hasn’t stopped me.  Here are 5 tips to finding time in your busy schedule.

leaving grains to soak and dough to rise frees up time for you to work on other things

1. Multi-Task:  The ages old mommy trick comes through again.  As I write this post I have clothes on the dryer rack, another load in the wash and sandwich rolls in the oven.  Each of those tasks takes small bits of my time through out the day so I’m able to stagger them.  
2. Cheat a Little Bit: Thats right I said it.  Now, I don’t mean cheat like hit up the MacDonald’s on your way home but I routinely use an electric bread maker to make not only bread but also to mix and rise any dough (pizza, rolls, biscuits you name it).  Does it use a bit more electricity, yes.  Does it free up my arms to hold a fussy baby, yes. 
3. Organize: One of these days I’ll write a post about our super Home Management Binder.  Consider it the Shippee family brain, its got contact lists, calendars, weekly menus, the works! and it keeps us super organized.  We would be lost without it.  Start out each day with a plan or at least an idea of what you want to accomplish.  You might not get to everything but at least it will give you something to work towards. 
Planning your meals will save you tons of time!

4. Plan Ahead: Take a few minutes at the end of the week to plan for the week coming.  I use a menu sheet that allows me to fill in breakfast and lunch ideas as well as each nights dinner.  There is also a place for “Prep” each day.  The Prep spot helps me spread out cooking tasks through out the week and reminds me to do things like soak grains or thaw meat for the next days meal.  
5. Keep it Simple:  You do not need to cook a 5 course meal every night.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever cooked a 5 course anything.  On days when you know you are going to be busy with meetings, classes, or life in general keep things real simple.  Throw something in the crock-pot and let it do the work for you, or go ahead and put leftovers out.  We frequently have pancakes or scrambled eggs on nights when I know we’ll be getting home late and thats okay with us. 
What are some ways that you find time in your busy life to keep it “real”?

*Linking up with: Farm Girl FridayHomestead Barn HopThe Modest MomSimple Living Wednesday

2 thoughts on “But I’m Just too Busy

  1. This is a great post for me because I need to get back to 'real'. I do use some canned and boxed foods, but I try to buy only the things we absolutely can't live without (I got teenagers! 'nuff said!). Thanks for all your great ideas, and thanks for sharing at the Farm Girl Blog Fest!

    ~Kristi
    @Let This Mind Be in You

    Like

Leave a Reply

