My Favorite Appliance

I’d like to introduce you to the newest addition to our little homestead, a 5’1 cubic feet upright freezer.

Isn’t she beautiful?

 Now we finally have room to put up lots of produce while its in-season, shop in bulk for the basics, and stock up on local meats. It has quickly become my new favorite appliance…sorry, crock pot!

This freezer was something we’ve been wanting for awhile.  We patiently saved up our pennies while stuffing the tiny little fridge freezer as full as we could.  We may have had to wait for it but it was definitely worth it.

Now, we can see everything and don’t have to spend time trying to dig things out from behind a giant turkey…. Last week, I seriously lost a whole bag of cheddar cheese in our tiny freezer, only to find it an hour after I got back from the store with more cheese.  But, now that cheese has its own little space far away from that mean old turkey.

What is your favorite appliance?

Linking up with: Farm Girl Friday & The Homestead Barn Hop

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Appliance

  1. The freezer is a great money saver here as well. As far as my favorite appliance – I don't know if you can actually count it as an “appliance” but I've recently obtained a solar oven & I think I'm in L-O-V-E! In Texas I should be able to use it extensively, especially in the summer, and keep that cooking heat outside where it belongs. I'm also looking forward to dehydrating my summer garden excess with it. I played with dehydration last year and really like the flexibility it offers as well as the storage space it saves. Thanks for sharing this post! (visiting from Farm Girl Friday Blog Fest)

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas
    http://www.taylormaderanch.com/blog

    Like

  2. My mom has a chest freezer which was always full when I was growing up. It is something that my husband and I have been talking about getting this summer. As far as appliances goes, I think that my favorite is either the washing machine or the dishwasher. I seem to do so many loads in each, that if I didn't have them, I am not entirely sure what I would do – probably own fewer clothes and dishes!

    Like

  3. My lovely new chest freezer has yet to be turned on! We've been waiting until we can pick up a whole lamb to fill it. I love it even though we don't use it yet! The possibilities of bulk meat storage, storing our excess vegie crop, making cakes and muffins for school lunches and meals for when our bub comes along in August are rather exciting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

