Dehydrating Strawberries

Its strawberry season in some parts of the country.  Not this one, it was a whopping 43 degrees out today, but still the strawberries are creeping closer…and the prices are creeping lower.  Our grocery store had them on sale last week so we picked up 2 pounds.  Its just a start, as the local season gets closer, the prices will get lower and I’ll stock up in larger amounts.
Most of the time I either dehydrate strawberries or I cook them down into a simple berry sauce.  This time I chose to dehydrate them.  It took me about 10 minutes to prep and then the dehydrator did its thing overnight and into the next day.

First, I washed the strawberries.  Strawberries are on the “dirty dozen” meaning they rank very high in terms of pesticide use.  So, organic is the way to go when buying them.  If you can’t find organic, I’d wait till you could or at least wash them really well.
Then I sliced them up into fairly thick slices (probably 1/8th of an inch).  My dehydrator has wide gaps in the racks so I have to be very careful to keep things from falling through and down onto the heating coils.
I laid them out on the racks, giving each bit its own space.  Turned the machine on and headed to bed.  By morning, the whole house smelled like yummy strawberry goodness.  Snacks and an air freshener at the same time!
Once they are very dry (think strawberry jerky) I let them cool on the racks and then store them in a mason jar.  I love to mix them in with my yogurt and granola in the morning.  They also taste great added to muffins or granola bars.

What’s your favorite way to eat strawberries?

Linking up with: Farm Girl FridayThe Modest MomHomestead Barn Hop

One thought on “Dehydrating Strawberries

  1. we dehydrated pineapples, apples, and bananas! i wanted to dehydrate strawberries this week to top oatmeal or work into our granola bars, but the kids ended up eating almost all of them already! 🙂 maybe next week…

    Like

Leave a Reply

