Simple Suppers

Since going back to work full time, I have been collecting and inventing simple supper recipes.  Meals that I can get on the table quickly but that are still made up of healthy real ingredients.

Here are some of my favorites: 
Breakfast for Dinner
I love breakfast for dinner.  Pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, you name it.  They are all so easy to throw together and cook up fast.  With our Ladies laying 4 eggs a day, This is one way I can use them up.  Also, if you or someone in your family is a little unsure of going meatless (a great way to save some money) Breakfast for dinner is a great way to start.  You don’t even notice the meat is missing when you’ve got a big old plate of pancakes with fresh fruit on top.
Perfect Pancakes
Anything in my Crock Pot
Okay, thats not true.  A couple weeks ago I made some soup in the crock pot that turned out to be one of the grossest things I’ve ever eaten…seriously it was bad.  The good news is I have a bunch of “Go-to” crock pot meals like macaroni and cheese, chicken and rice, and awesome clam chowder.  I usually prep the crock pot meal the night before and keep it in the fridge till morning.  I love coming home to dinner all cooked and waiting for me.
Soup and Sandwiches or Salad
Soup is such a great way to use up leftovers and little bits of things.  The possibilities are endless but our favorites include chicken noodle and creamy tomato.  Pair that with a grilled cheese or a nice salad and you’ve got a meal.
Sourdough Sandwich Rolls

Pasta and Sauce
This is one of our favorites.  The pasta cooks up in no time and we always have sauce in the fridge.  Its warm, filling and you can always add leftover meat or veggies to mix it up a bit.  I love to make my own sauce but when in doubt there are a million different varieties at the store.
Simple Tomato Sauce

What do you make for supper when you are running low on time and energy?

Linking up with: The Modest MomFrugal Days, Sustainable WaysPin It Party

4 thoughts on “Simple Suppers

  1. I have used some of these as easy suppers for years. I actually love having breakfast for supper because I usually don't eat much for breakfast even though I enjoy breakfast foods. And I love the crock pot. My only crock pot disaster was a crock pot cake and it was pretty bad.
    Have a blessed day.

    Like

  2. One of our favorite crock pot meals is a Swiss steak meal. I make this on a Sunday evening for a meal on Monday. I take round steak, cut it into serving size pieces. Dust with flour, salt, and pepper. Then brown just a few minutes on each side. Set aside to cool before going into the refrigerator. The next morning cut an onion into thin slices, put into bottom of crock pot. Add browned steak. Now add a large can of crushed tomatoes. Salt and more black pepper. Cook on low all day. Serve over rice. (my husband likes me to add some green bell peppers to the pot too.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

