Eggplant Chips

I’ll be honest, I’m not an eggplant fan.  I really only like it one way, deep fried and covered with tomato sauce and cheese. But, every year my mother-in-law gives me eggplant starts and every year put them in my garden. I just can’t say no to free plants.
So once again, I am on a quest to find ways to eat eggplant…

Or people to give them to, who wants eggplant?  

I posted on facebook asking for suggestions and my friend Steph happily suggested eggplant chips.  She bakes hers but I did a little research and decided it was time to break out the old dehydrator and give it a whirl.

Turns out eggplant isn’t all that bad in chip form…isn’t everything better in chip form?


2 medium eggplants sliced as evenly as possible (I really need to get mandoline)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
Salt (you’ll see why there is no amount in a minute)

Sprinkle both sides of the eggplant slices with a little bit of salt and lay them out on some towels for 15 minutes.  This will help draw out some of the water, making them easier to chipify (yes, thats a word).

While they are resting, mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl.

Dip each slice into the vinegar mixture and lay them onto the dehydrator trays.

Turn it on and let them dry, mine took about 6.5 hours but it will depend on how thick your slices are and how speedy your dehydrator is.

I kept mine in a tightly closed container and they stayed nice and crispy, just like real chips, though they still have a bit of that eggplant taste to them.

What’s your favorite eggplant dish?
Linking up with: Healthy 2daySimple Living WednesdayHomeAcre HopNatural Living Link UpHomemade MondayFrugal Days Sustainable WaysReviving Homemaking

One thought on “Eggplant Chips

  1. That sounds interesting. I'm like you, not an eggplant fan. I'm always looking for ways to make non-favorite good-for-me food into something good.

    Thank you for linking up to the HomeAcre Hop; I hope you'll join us again this Thursday.

    Kathi @ oakhillhomestead.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

