Fall goals and projects

It’s that time of year again…the time of year when I start writing massive to-do lists in order to get us prepped for winter.  Granted, I’ll never finish all of it but still I like to dream.

In no particular order:

  •  Fire wood, fire wood, fire wood.  A free (other than manual labor) way to keep us warm and cozy all winter…yes please!

  • Apples! Its time to pick them, eat them, can them, dehydrate them, and anything else I can think of.

  • I’ve got to get the garden turned over and garlic in the ground.  I tried growing garlic in containers last year but there just wasn’t enough drainage.  This year its going in one of the raised beds that we used for eggplant and peppers.  It will mean needing to build a new bed this spring but thats alright. 
Time to fill the pantry 
  • Chicken coop.  This is the big one! Those pesky ladies have hidden their nests for the last time.  They are getting a new coop with a big fenced in run so that I can actually find the eggs.
  • I’ve got a freezer full of random produce (peppers, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, tomatoes) and it’s time to start canning it.  Hot pepper jelly, mixed berry jam, and probably tomato puree or salsa.
  • It’s time to give the house a good deep cleaning and get it ready for winter.  The thermal curtains need to be hung and the vents and fans need a good dusting.
Thankfully, the weather has been a nice mix of cool and sunny.  Perfect for getting massive amounts of work done.  Now, if it will stay like that for a few more weeks then we’ll be all set. 

What do you have to do to get ready for winter?
Linking up with: Frugal Days, Sustainable WaysNatural Living Link Up, Homestead Barn HopThe Modest MomHomemade Mondays
3 thoughts on “Fall goals and projects

  1. Your list sounds like my list. Just add finishing building and staining the new deck between wind and rain storms to that which is actually taking away my time from all the other things that need to be done. I also need to rototil the chicken run and the goose enclosure and put a layer of sand in it. Clean up the garden and prep it for next spring, clean the coop, and finish putting in the last raised bed so I CAN plant the garlic. It never ends. Looking forward to some down time for reading.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great list. I'm getting ready to do my fall deep cleaning the end of this month. With Thanksgiving and Christmas coming, oh and a baby due right in between the two, getting it done early is the way to get it done so I can enjoy the holidays. Thankfully my mother is coming to visit to help with the the cleaning and my girls like to “help” as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

