Top 10 Things Every Homesteader Needs – Homestead Man

I love me a good top ten list, especially one that makes it easier for me to do my Christmas shopping.  So with that in mind I had Ian came up with the top 10 things a homesteading dude needs.  Here are the things he uses everyday, that make life around here so much easier.  I hope it gives you some Christmas ideas!

1. Flannel Lined Jeans – Rough and tough on the outside, pajamas on the inside…need I say more?
2. Leather work gloves – For wood splitting, brush hauling, tractor fixing, and everything else you can think of
3. Antique tractor – I know what you’re thinking, but apparently antique tractors are like the homestead dudes version of chapstick (you must have one in every flavor)

4. Chainsaw – See the above comments about antique tractors.  Seriously though, the chainsaw is really useful, without it our house would be cold and our yard would still look like a jungle.
5. Hand tools– screw drivers, wrenches, hammers, pry bars, all that good stuff
6. Vest – Not the Mr. Rogers kind, the canvas “work man” kind.  They are warm, have lots of pockets, and make the homestead man look a bit like a logger, if you are into that sort of thing.
7. Boots – Work boots or muck boots or both
8.Multi-Tool – It’s kind of like a pocket knife but with a million other fun things to play with.
9.Tool Box – Got to stay organized and it’s great if you need to grab it quick and head out to fix that antique tractor

10. A Dog – They are, after all, man’s best friend.

Linking Up With: Pin It PartyModest MomHomestead Barn Hop

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Things Every Homesteader Needs – Homestead Man

  1. Good Morning, I just found your blog and I am intrigued . . . it is so fresh and original and after exploring a few of your posts I am excited about trying your “Leftover Pie”. I am a retired wife, mom am grandma who enjoys life to the fullest. I love sewing, cooking, art, gardening, music, anything outdoors and most of all trying new things. My plan is to be siting in my rocking chair at age 100 and looking back at a life well lived 🙂
    I am your newest follower and I would like to invite you over to visit my blog. If you like what you see please follow me back 🙂
    Your newest blogging sister, Connie 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

