Garden Planning Part 1

Maybe it was the never ending winter, maybe was the fact that we were out of the veggies I put up by December but either way this years garden has grown considerably from last years.  I’m dreaming big folks, cause thats what I do…so big in fact that I had to break this up over two posts, stay tuned for part two later on in the week.

The garlic I planted this fall isn’t looking so hot.  I’m not giving up on it just yet but I’m also not holding my breath for it.  I’m pretty sure the 2 feet of snow it got buried under for months didn’t help very much, not to mention the flood that the 2 feet of melting snow caused.  I wish I could figure out the secret to garlic growing because thats one thing I’d love to be stocked up on when winter rolls around.  

Up until now, we’ve kept our garden to 2 raised beds and a couple of large pots but not anymore.  We’re putting in a few rows along side the beds.  These rows are going to more than double the space we usually have and I plan on filling every inch.


My biggest experiment this summer is potatoes.  I’m trying the “trash can” potato method and I’m really excited about it.  I’ve done a lot of research and it sounds like an easy and inexpensive way to grow potatoes.  Expect a blog post about it later on once I see how it goes.

My other big experiment is fruit.  I’ve been wanting to orchard it up for awhile now (and yes, I know that isn’t a real phrase) so this year we are turning one of the raised beds into a strawberry patch.  Well, hopefully but those little guys are not starting as easily as I expected and are still very very tiny.  Hopefully now that we are getting more sun, they’ll grow a bit.  The other fruit that we are adding is blackberries.  Our local conservation district sponsors a tree and shrub sale every year and this year they are selling blackberries.  They are a hardy, thornless, variety called Chester and come with good recommendations.  These will definitely be the most permanent addition we’ve made and I’m looking forward to blackberries year after year…as long as we can keep the chickens away from them. 

Are you planting a garden this year?  What are your plans? 

Linking up with: Homemade MondaysModest MomHomestead Barn Hop
2 thoughts on “Garden Planning Part 1

  1. I did strawberries in a raised bed 2 years ago. Last year I got plenty of berries for awhile and then we had so much rain, more than usual…and they developed a fungus. So I had to pull some of them out 😦 I didn't want to waste that space so I put some annual flower seeds in and enjoyed the flowers all fall! 🙂 Hoping this year that the berries will be fine…one thing I didn't do was put straw in there to protect the berries from all of the moisture and I should have! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

