Garden Planning Part 2

In my last post, I started to fill you in on our plans for this years garden (you can check that out HERE).  Well, one post just wasn’t enough to cover all the awesomeness that we have in store.  The long winter gave us plenty of time to plan and dream and so we did….and maybe got a little carried away in the process.

Last year we grew tomatoes, pickling cucumbers, peppers, eggplant, and basil.  Those are all coming back again and this year we are adding corn, peas, dill, and cilantro.  We had lots of space so I decided to fill it! Corn and peas are some of Tilly’s favorite veggies so I knew I had to add them.  I had grown the dill and cilantro before but last year I didn’t bother and missed having fresh herbs.  I have 3 big pots that I’ll use for the herbs that way I can bring them in the house come fall and keep picking from them.

I never used to bother with flowers.  I always said that I wanted to grow things that were useful and flowers were just for looks.  Well, I’ve changed my mind.  We were given some zinnia starts last year and planted them in front of the house.  Turns out they looked great and I fell in love.  This year I am planning a mix of zinnias and dwarf sunflowers for the front of the house.  Both are “cut and grow” varieties which means I can cut some for bouquets to sell at the top of the driveway along with eggs and the plants will keep producing.


We are planning some improvements to the garden area as well.  A fence is going up to keep those pesky critters at bay and the chickens are getting a covered run to keep them safe from hawks.  We’ve lost 3 since we started our flock and while I love letting them roam all over I love them alive and safe a bit more.  They’ll still have plenty of space to peck around and I’ll make sure they get all the weeds from the garden to munch on.

Are you planting a garden this year?

Leave a Reply

